busted flush press crime novels

About BFP
This is David Thompson, owner of the "promising new paperback house" (Chicago Tribune) Busted Flush Press. After working at Houston's Murder By The Book (Houston, TX)—one of the nation's oldest and largest mystery bookstores—for over 16 years, nothing irritated me more than to discover a wonderful writer to handsell, then have the publisher drop the author since the sales weren't sufficiently large for their tastes. I started up BFP as a way to reissue some of the authors and books that were employee and customer favorites.

For the most part, these books have already been field-tested—for example, we sold hundreds and hundreds of copies of David Handler's Edgar Award-winning Hoagy and Lulu mysteries...before Random House dropped the series.

Busted Flush Press will also be doing original anthologies, such as the forthcoming A Hell of a Woman: An Anthology of Female Noir (edited by 2006 Edgar Award nominee Megan Abbott, summer 2007) and the just-released Damn Near Dead: An Anthology of Geezer Noir (edited by Duane Swierczynski; introduction by James Crumley), which features all-new hard-boiled stories by 27 A-list crime writers, including Jeff Abbott, Mark Billingham, Ken Bruen, Reed Farrel Coleman, Colin Cotterill, John Harvey, Laura Lippman, Jason Starr, Charlie Stella, and more!

A Fifth of Bruen: Early Fiction of Ken Bruen—BFP's very first trade release—a collection of novellas and short stories by the Edgar Award-nominated, Shamus and Macavity Award-winning novelist Ken Bruen. Recently showcased on CBS Sunday Morning, Bruen is one of the most important crime writers of the new century.

Next year will see the republication of Cynthia S. Smith's Emma Rhodes mysteries (for fans of Marne Davis Kellogg and Kerry Greenwood), A. E. Maxwell's Fiddler and Fiora novels (for fans of John D. MacDonald, Robert Crais and Robert Parker), Vicki Hendricks's Miami Purity ("A modern noir masterpiece."—Michael Connelly), and the U.S. release of Ken Bruen's The Hackman Blues / London Boulevard / Dispatching Baudelaire.



busted flush press
about BFP
novels
anthologies
limited editions
authors
contact
busted flush press hard-boiled crime fiction